ARC Reviews, Book Reviews

Dark and Shallow Lies by Ginny Myers Sain [ARC Review]

56913189

Title: Dark and Shallow Lies

Author: Ginny Myers Sain

Rating:  ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ 💫

Publication Date: September 7th, 2021

Publisher: Razorbill

Source: ARC via Publisher

Synopsis: A teen girl disappears from her small town deep in the bayou, where magic festers beneath the surface of the swamp like water rot, in this chilling debut supernatural thriller for fans of Natasha Preston, Karen McManus, and Rory Power.

La Cachette, Louisiana, is the worst place to be if you have something to hide.

This tiny town, where seventeen-year-old Grey spends her summers, is the self-proclaimed Psychic Capital of the World–and the place where Elora Pellerin, Grey’s best friend, disappeared six months earlier.

Grey can’t believe that Elora vanished into thin air any more than she can believe that nobody in a town full of psychics knows what happened. But as she digs into the night that Elora went missing, she begins to realize that everybody in town is hiding something – her grandmother Honey; her childhood crush Hart; and even her late mother, whose secrets continue to call to Grey from beyond the grave.

When a mysterious stranger emerges from the bayou – a stormy-eyed boy with links to Elora and the town’s bloody history – Grey realizes that La Cachette’s past is far more present and dangerous than she’d ever understood. Suddenly, she doesn’t know who she can trust. In a town where secrets lurk just below the surface, and where a murderer is on the loose, nobody can be presumed innocent–and La Cachette’s dark and shallow lies may just rip the town apart.

Screen Shot 2019-05-17 at 1.24.32 PM

Are you ready for another dark, haunting and mystic read? Well look no further than Dark and Shallow Lies. I absulty got sucked into the small Louisiana town of La Cachette and their bayou accents (which are perfectly written in my opinion). La Cachette is the Psychic hotspot, and everyone their is graced with an ability, whether it be communicating with spirits or healing injuries. This was wonderfully described and I loved trying to figure out how each power fitting together with the character. 

Follow Grey, one of the 10 Summer Children (those born within the span of one summer) as she tries to solve the disappearance of her best friend and twin flame, Elora. Grey, unlike the rest of the townspeople, doesn’t have a gift, but that doesn’t stop her, and I love her for that. She is a very headstrong character, determined to uncover the secrets that are buried in the black waters that surround the town.

Without giving too much away, this is very much a disappearance, within a murder, within a storm (and now I’ll leave you here to figure out what all that means 😅). Also, the mysterious boy, we love a good dark and stormy (literally) characters that throws a wrench in previous assumptions!

Pin by Pumpkin Queen on Halloween | In the pale moonlight, Aesthetic gif,  Gothic aesthetic

Overall, this book hooked me from the very start and is the perfect dark cup of tea that many will enjoy. Make sure you check it out when it hits shelves. 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s